Lady of The Day- Keanna (Missions and being a Misfit)

 Today’s woman feature is my sister friend Keanna. Strangely, we met via social media over a year ago and she has been an inspiration to me and many others. Her passion for reading books, mission trips and being a MISFIT. I am so proud of the woman she is becoming and seeing her passion for serving her community. No matter the distance, she and I continue to sharpen one another. We believe in SISTERHOOD.    keanna
1. Can you share about a mission trip that has impacted your life?
 
I did a mission trip in Uganda in 2010 (my very first mission trip and first time overseas) To say it was life changing is the least. My entire perspective on life changed drastically! I found myself more grateful for the “small blessings” like shelter, food, water, health, etc. I found it much harder to complain–and much easier to be grateful. My love for ministry enlarged during this time in Africa! I realized I could spend the rest of my life giving back. The craziest, mind boggling part of the trip was that myself and my team were sent there to spread the love and gospel of Jesus Christ–but I left feeling like the people of Uganda had a bigger impact on my life! I had never felt such joy, love and contentment in my life… 
 keanna 4
 
2. What has been a challenging experience you faced in life and how did you overcome it?
 
I believe the most challanging experiences of my life occurred in my childhood. Growing up in a dysfunctional home–after  a while, dysfunction becomes the norm when that is what you experince in the early stages of life. When I REALLY found Christ, a lot of my wounds were exposed (God’s word is light! It brings life to dead/dark things)… And I was forced to deal with my past hurt through a lot of prayer, worship, counseling, reading, etc. I had to make a CHOICE that I didn’t want to carry around the baggage from my past! The hardest part was forgiveness-but once I began to really forgive, my healing began! I have overcome a lot concerning my past, however, this is a ongoing process! 
 keann 3
3. Name some of your favorite books to read?
 
 some of my fav. Books to read–anything inspirational/based in biblical principals! I love witty, transparent authors, I find them easier to relate to!! A few of my favorite books–Soul Detox and Weird by Craig Groeschel. Healing is a choice by Stephen Arterburn. Living  beyond your feelings by Joyce Meyers! Just to name a few.
 
 
4. Do you have any future projects you will be working on?
 
 I am currently working on my first book and launching my blog site soon and working on “MISFIT”. Stay tuned….
kean 2
 
5. What’s your favorite scripture?
My favorite passage– 1 Peter 5:10! Everytime I hear it, I get excited! Literally!  “And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast”.
 
Keanna may be reached via email keannamaried17@gmail.com and IG: MeannaKarie
Leave a Reply

