Lady of The Day- Sasha P (Author and Motivational Speaker)

Today, I have the pleasure of featuring my wonderful sister friend Sasha P. We met a little over a year ago at a Women’s Fellowship and she is a true example of PAIN birthing into her PURPOSE. Sasha has faced many trials during her childhood and adulthood years, but is a living proof that God can heal all wounds and use it for His glory. Read her story and connect with her.
  sasha 3
 
1. You recently launched your first book this year titled “Single, Saved and Young“, when did you know you were going to write this book?
 
 I first knew I was going to write a book about three years ago. I was sitting in my living room, and God dropped the title “Single, Saved & Young” in my spirit. At the time, I was all of that. I’d finally gotten to a place where I desired more of God. Where I was okay with being single (relationship status) and finally building a father/daughter relationship with my Daddy (God). Every now and again, I have to just pinch myself to make sure that it’s real. I did not know where I was going to get the finances to accomplish the things needed to put together to complete book. Nor did I have any, I mean no idea,  words that would make up the book. But God knew. The process of finishing the book was definitely not easy, but it has been worth it. 
 sasha 4
 
2. Any words of encouragement you can offer to young women that are single and waiting?
 
Don’t we all need it? (smiles). All I can say is, be patient. I think we all have this fairy tale in our minds of what marriage is. About meeting that special person and getting “that rock” on our ring finger. As someone who have been engaged, almost married, to now single; be of a good courage and wait. God wants the best for his daughters. Don’t get all caught up on what you see on T.V, or feel like you have to hurry up because you may feel your clock ticking. Or that you are getting old. My Apostle says it best. She says,  when we leave the choice to God he gives us his BEST. We are all single until marriage. In our time of being single, we are able to do sooooo much more for God. Not saying that I don’t believe that we will not be able to do much for God as wives. However, in your time of being single, you don’t have the responsibility of carrying the load of a household. So until then, don’t entertain these “boos” “boo boos'” “Snukums” “Bae”. Especially if you already know deep deep down inside that it’s not going anywhere. When its Gods best, you will know. As we all wait, be more focused on pleasing God and living a wholesome life.
 
ISHMAEL vs. ISSAC (Counterfeit vs. The Promise)
 
3. I know you are an overcomer, what are some struggles you faced and what helped you to overcome them?
 
As a child that grew up in a broken home, many of the things I struggled with/overcame came out of this. I grew up with my aunt in my home country Guyana. And did not meet my mom again until the age of 11. And met my father for the first time since I was 1 year old at the age of 10. I had a very dysfunctional relationship with my father, one that God is continuing to heal even now as an adult. I was a unhappy child, because I felt unwanted. And because of that, I began pondering on the different ways to kill myself. I remember pressing my body against a window that overlooked the front of our apartment building. a few stories up, hoping that the glass would break without me having to jump through it. I remember taking safety pins and scrapping it against my skin, because I had no other way to express my anger. I honestly do not know how I made it pass those things at that age. All I know is, that God always placed someone there to show me love. To care enough to want to know how I was doing. Took the time to tell me I was beautiful and that I was smart. To make a long story short, it was the love of God through someone that kept me. It gave me hope, even as a pre-teen/teenager to know that things will get better. And that I was actually someone important.
sasha 1
 
4.Tell us more about “My Scares Are Beautiful”.
 
“My Scares Are Beautiful” came forth after walking away from a three car accident with just a dash on my forehead. In April of this year I was on my way to work, and a speeding car slammed into my car from the back. This caused my car to be sandwiched between the car in front of me and the car that hit me. The car was totaled. As females, we can be super sensitive about who we are, and how we look. Our perception of self are usually way off. And because of the dash on my forehead, I felt unpretty. It was just this scare that stared back at me every time I looked in the mirror. Then God spoke to me one day, reminding me that it was the only thing I walked away with from the accident. That it could have been worst. And instead of looking at it in the negative, to look at it in the positive. The mark on my forehead was a reminder, that I was a SURVIVOR. Then he  spoke to me about the scares that so many of us have, that cannot be seen. But nonetheless, they are like reminders of what we have been delivered out of. And what we have overcome. At the end of it all….our scares are truly beautiful.
sasha p
 
5.What’s your favorite verse?
 
Can I give more than one? (Smiles). If I had to choose one, it would be Hab 2:2
 
” And the Lord answered me, and said, Write the vision, and make it plain upon tables, that he may run that readeth it.”
 
God has placed greatness in all of us. We just have to be in a place where we align ourselves tap into it (Jer 29:11). And I love this scripture because when we take a hold of what God gives us to do, he will give us the instructions needed to complete the task. That comes with catching the vision, writing it down, making it plain, and running with it. At each step the Holy Spirit leads. LOVE IT! Because it just shows how God is able to lead us to birth the things he gives us to do.
 
6.What are some currently projects you are working on?
 
Currently I’m getting ready to launch an outreach organization that focuses on the importance of serving and giving back. In addition to that, prepping to begin writing book number two.
 
 
 sasha 2
 
Sasha may be reached via:
 
IG: AuthorSashaP
Personal Facebook Page: Sasha Pilgrim
Organization Page: S.P-Organizations  (Purple logo as profile)
Email Address: Sasha.Pilgrim@yahoo.com-Email Address
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

