The Art of Saying No

How many times have you found yourself saying YES to doing something when you really wanted to say NO. So many of us get caught up in filling our daily planners with little sticky notes that are color coded with activities and events. We then soon realize we are overbooking ourselves. I have found myself saying “YES” to attending ministry events, birthday parties, volunteer projects, meetings, conferences, and such only to be left feeling overwhelmed. I had to ask myself why was it so important for me to say yes to every invitation or idea from others. After re-evaluating myself and spending time with God, I soon realize that I liked being busy and helping others. As much as I wanted to be busy all the time, God quickly showed me a scripture over and over “Be still and know that I am God” -Psalm 41:10. A scripture that I am still learning to adapt in my everyday life. I didn’t know how to say no to people and it probably was because I didn’t like people saying no to me. I grew up in a household where I was the oldest and only daughter, so I was not equip to hearing my parents say the word No to me. I soon had to quickly make some changes especially if it was a distraction from my purpose here on earth. As much as I liked being busy, I soon turned to a place where I had to say no to many. Ultimately, I was less stressed and happier when my daily planner was not filled every single weekend with events. I have more time for myself for “Pamper Me Days” and spending time with my loved ones. Saying NO has helped me to gain some balance and prioritize some of the things that are dear to my heart. There are so many distractions in this world and I cannot become a victim of distractions that will derail me from my purpose. 

 

Image

 

Challenge: I challenge you to look at your schedule and your goals for 2013. Ask yourself this question “Are the things I am saying YES to hindering me from achieving my God-Given-Goals?”

 
3 thoughts on “The Art of Saying No

  1. This post hits the nail right on the head for me. I’m currently learning to say “No”. Although saying no gives me a sense of relief, I still sometimes feel guilty. I guess I just have to work on that.

  2. This post is by far interesting and something to dwell on. Addicted to Pleasing others to the extent I’m overwhelmed is something i currently struggle with as well…. Would you mind reposting this blog to my Facebook blog page called “the untold by mkr”. I think this is something many people should read 🙂

    • Hello Monique,

      Feel free to post it on your Facebook blog page. Yes, people pleasing will have you constantly seek validation from human beings. Remember our duty is to seek God and be pleasing in HIS sight 🙂 be at peace sis 🙂

Leave a Reply

